Release-grade programme record

International Relations (Distance Learning) MA at University of Portsmouth

University of Portsmouth lists International Relations (Distance Learning) MA as a MA in United Kingdom. The programme sits within law & policy, and the source record does not state the language of instruction.

✓ Release gate passedSource read 24 Aug 2026Source: Institution course pages6 usable fields verified against the sourceNo paid ranking
Programme

International Relations (Distance Learning) MA at University of Portsmouth: key facts

Degree / awardMA✓ source attached
Study duration2 years part-time✓ checked 24 Aug 2026 · port.ac.uk"2 years part-time by distance learning"
LocationCity of Portsmouth, United Kingdom✓ source attached
Study modedistance learning✓ checked 24 Aug 2026 · port.ac.uk"studying full-time or part-time alongside work or military service via distance learning"
Language of instructionNot published in our verified sources↗ university source
Entry requirementsA minimum of a second-class honours degree in Politics, International Relations, Peace Studies, Sociology, History, or another relevant subject. Equivalent (directly relevant to course content and extensive) professional experience and/or qualifications will also be considered.✓ checked 24 Aug 2026 · port.ac.uk"A minimum of a second-class honours degree in Politics, International Relations, Peace Studies, Sociology, History, or another relevant subject. Equivalent (directly relevant to course content and extensive) professional experience and/or qualifications will also be considered."
English language requirementEnglish language proficiency at a minimum of IELTS band 6.5 with no component score below 6.5.✓ checked 24 Aug 2026 · port.ac.uk"English language proficiency at a minimum of IELTS band 6.5 with no component score below 6.5."
Next intakeSeptember 2026✓ checked 24 Aug 2026 · port.ac.uk"September 2026"
Application deadlineNot published in our verified sources↗ university source
Tuition / fees£9,700 total (full-time) (audience not specified)✓ checked 24 Aug 2026 · port.ac.uk"Tuition fees (September 2026/January 2027 start) Full-time: £9,700 (may be subject to annual increase) Part-time: £4,850 per year (may be subject to annual increase) Full time: £9,700 (may be subject to annual increase) Part-time: £4,850 per year (may be subject to annual increase)"

About International Relations (Distance Learning) MA at University of Portsmouth

Overview Explore the complexities of contemporary world affairs on this MA International Relations, which you can study full-time or part-time alongside work or military service via distance learning. The University of Portsmouth is ranked the number 1 modern university for research quality in Area Studies

From the course page at port.ac.uk, read 20 Aug 2026

University of Portsmouth lists International Relations (Distance Learning) MA as a MA in United Kingdom. The programme sits within law & policy, and the source record does not state the language of instruction.

The published duration is 2 years part-time. The recorded study mode is distance learning.

The published fee captured for this programme is £9,700 total (full-time) (audience not specified). The application deadline is set per intake on the university's own page; Anyroll does not roll an old date into a new cycle.

International Relations (Distance Learning) MA programme structure

Full-time Core modules Close all Dissertation - 60 credits This module gives you the opportunity to develop a research project on a topic of your choice, pursuing your own academic interest or policy-oriented goals. You'll carry out your independent research project by working closely with an academic supervisor, who will support you in setting reasonable timelines and making sure that the outc...

Verified from the official port.ac.uk source, read 20 Aug 2026.

Career outcomes after International Relations (Distance Learning) MA

Careers this Master's prepares you for There is high demand across a range of professions for those with a solid foundation in international relations and an unbiased global outlook. This International Relations Master's degree will give you invaluable insight into international organisations and the challenges they face, while enabling you to learn the skills to affect change, such as policy d...

Verified from the official port.ac.uk source, read 20 Aug 2026.

What to check before applying to International Relations (Distance Learning) MA

EligibilityA minimum of a second-class honours degree in Politics, International Relations, Peace Studies, Sociology, History, or another relevant subject. Equivalent (directly relevant to course content and extensive) professional experience and/or qualifications will also be considered.

Compare your qualification and language evidence with the official wording before paying an application fee.

Budget£9,700 total (full-time) (audience not specified)

Check the fee year and applicant category, then add deposits, living costs and any separate contribution.

TimingStart: September 2026 · Duration: 2 years part-time

Make sure the published deadline and fee both apply to the same intake before submitting.

Study loaddistance learning

Use the official curriculum to confirm compulsory modules, placement requirements and the expected weekly load.

International Relations (Distance Learning) MA entry requirements and frequently asked questions

What qualification does International Relations (Distance Learning) MA award?

International Relations (Distance Learning) MA is listed by University of Portsmouth as a MA programme. The linked university page is the authority for the exact award title.

How long does International Relations (Distance Learning) MA take?

University of Portsmouth publishes a study duration of 2 years part-time for International Relations (Distance Learning) MA in the recorded distance learning mode.

How much does International Relations (Distance Learning) MA cost for international students?

Published tuition is £9,700 total (full-time) (audience not specified). Confirm the applicable year, applicant category and any deposit on the linked university fee page.

When does International Relations (Distance Learning) MA start?

The programme source lists September 2026 as the intake or start. Check that the application window shown above belongs to the same cohort before applying.

What are the entry requirements for International Relations (Distance Learning) MA?

A minimum of a second-class honours degree in Politics, International Relations, Peace Studies, Sociology, History, or another relevant subject. Equivalent (directly relevant to course content and extensive) professional experience and/or qualifications will also be considered. This is a programme-specific source summary, not an admissions decision; University of Portsmouth makes the final assessment.

What English-language evidence does University of Portsmouth require for this programme?

English language proficiency at a minimum of IELTS band 6.5 with no component score below 6.5. Accepted tests, exemptions and score validity can change, so use the linked source for the application cycle you are entering.

Where can I verify the facts about International Relations (Distance Learning) MA?

Each decision fact on this page links to the exact University of Portsmouth source Anyroll checked. The record shows the check date and does not infer missing fees, dates or requirements.

Topics

International Relations (Distance Learning) MA entry requirements and costs

A minimum of a second-class honours degree in Politics, International Relations, Peace Studies, Sociology, History, or another relevant subject. Equivalent (directly relevant to course content and extensive) professional experience and/or qualifications will also be considered.

  • Confirm the intake is open and that the page applies to your nationality and qualification.
  • Save the source page and the confirmation generated by the application system.

Browse this programme in context

Related programmes

University
University profile

University of Portsmouth

City of Portsmouth, United Kingdom

UniversityUniversity of Portsmouth✓ source attached
LocationCity of Portsmouth, United Kingdom✓ source attached
AddressPortsmouth, GB✓ source attached

University-level details are shown once here. Programme-specific fees, deadlines and entry requirements remain in the Programme tab above.